The Tallaght Motor Racing Circuit 1935 – 1948

This photographic exhibition on display in County Library Tallaght during August evokes memories of a time when Main Street, Tallaght resounded to the roar of racing car engines. The Tallaght circuit ran from Main Street, Tallaght to Templeogue bridge then along Firhouse Road to Oldbawn and back to Main Street. The races were major events on the Irish sporting calendar. They were covered on live radio and attended by Government Ministers.

 

Advertisements

History and Heritage 2017

South Dublin Libraries is delighted to present History and Heritage 2017 Stair agus Oidhreacht – a wonderful programme of heritage events which runs from July – September 2017.

The programme kicks off with the ever popular heritage walks of South Dublin County’s Villages. Whether you’re a local, once lived in the area or are just interested in the heritage and history of Newcastle, Palmerstown, Templeogue, Tallaght, Clondalkin, Lucan or Rathfarnham, you can start exploring and learning on these guided walks. If you fancy getting out into the countryside, there are guided walks at Bohernabreena Reservoir, or you can head to Massy’s Woods and learn all about the fascinating history of this estate with historian Frank Tracy.

 

style sneakersAnd whilst the big kids amongst us may have our heads in the clouds, we can’t forget the young ones in the family. There is plenty for children, from Irish History Live, the hands on museum where children can experience the world of round towers and Vikings, to craft workshops and family tree events.

The events will also include talks, exhibitions, storytelling and much more!

So immerse yourself in the history and heritage of South Dublin County this summer with this FREE programme of guided heritage walks, talks, workshops and exhibitions. There really is something for everyone!

Check out the full programme of events here.

Battle of Tallaght 150

South Dublin County Council Libraries is delighted to present events in commemoration of the 150th Anniversary of the Fenian Rising and the Battle of Tallaght, which occurs on 5th March 2017.

battle_of_tallaght_2

Contemporary print depicting the Battle of Tallaght, which was printed in the London Illustrated News

As part of the Dublin Fenian uprising in March 1867, several thousand members of the Irish Republican Brotherhood made their way to gather on Tallaght Hill, ready for rebellion. Their tactic was to draw the military out of Dublin while a separate rising took place in the city. A small contingent engaged in battle at the police station in Tallaght village. The RIC Sub-Inspector at Tallaght was watching the exodus of men from the city, and sent 14 armed officers out to the crossroads of the Main Road and Greenhills Road, where a battle with about 40 Fenians ensued. The ‘Battle of Tallaght’ was really just a skirmish in the village, but Tallaght was to be the site of the main battle of the Fenian uprising. However, the city centre was heavily fortified and the expected rising there didn’t happen. The large gathering of up to eight thousand men on Tallaght Hill was left leaderless, and eventually dispersed. The hoped for rising petered out.

battle_of_tallaght_1

Tallaght RIC Station, site of the Battle of Tallaght

Local historian Seán Bagnall will give a lecture on ‘The Battle of Tallaght’ on Thursday 2nd March at 7:00 pm at the County Library, Tallaght. All welcome, book your place here.

An exhibition on the Battle of Tallaght can be viewed at the County Library, Tallaght from 2nd March to 31st March during library opening hours.

5th and 6th class students from local Tallaght schools will be invited to visit the library for a presentation and a tour of the exhibition.

For further information, please contact Síle Coleman or Michael Keyes at the County Library, Tallaght on 01 4620073 or localstudies@sdublincoco.ie

Tallaght Historical Society Talks 2016/17

Tallaght Historical Society’s Lectures for the 2016/17 season have commenced. All lectures take place at 7:00 p.m. in the County Library, Tallaght, and all are welcome. No booking required.

2016

October 11th – Life after the Twelve Locks by Mick KinehanTaylors Map of Tallaght 1816 showing the many mills in the area

November 8th – Dublin from Old Photographs by Cormac Lowth

November 22nd – The Shape we’re in: the history of the map of Ireland by Michael Keyes

December 13th – Leo Swan Memorial Lecture – Archaeologist Neil Jackman will give a talk on his recent findings at the Hell Fire Club.

Round Tower_small

2017

January 10th – History of the Garda Siochána by Gerry Lovett

February 14th – A History of the GAA by David Griffith

March 14th – Edward Trevor, beast of Kilmainham by Michael Ó Doibhilín

April 11th – If those Trees Could Speak: the Massys of Killakee by Frank Tracy

May 9th – History of Ireland’s Round Towers by John Dolan

May 23rd – The Collection of the Irish Air Corps Museum by Michael Whelan

June 13th – Dublin Housing in the 1800s by Seán Bagnall

Dublin Fire Brigade and the 1916 Rising Exhibition

 

The Dublin Fire Brigade and the 1916 Rising Exhibition was launched by Mayor Guss O’Connell at the County Library, Tallaght yesterday evening. Founded in 1862, Dublin Fire Brigade is a Dublin institution in every sense of the word. In the 154 years since it was founded it has served and protected the people of Dublin and visitors to our city and county.

DSC_0396

Deputy Chief Fire Officer Denis Keeley, Mayor Guss O’Connell and Las Fallon, Head of Heritage Projects, Dublin Fire Brigade.  

Dublin Fire Brigade has had many proud moments in its history and this exhibition brings one aspect of that history into particular focus: its role in the events of Easter 1916.

A small professional brigade under the command of Captain Thomas Purcell worked throughout the week of the Rebellion to save lives and property in a city which became a battlefield. In the immediate aftermath of the Rising they faced a city on the verge of destruction and went to work to stop the spread of the flames and bring the great fires under control.

DSC_0388

Throughout this year Dublin Fire Brigade has played a major role in commemorative events, including the parade during the State Commemoration on Easter Sunday, honouring those who wore the Dublin Fire Brigade uniform in 1916.

Speaking at yesterday evening’s launch, Mayor O’Connell commented, “That small band of firefighters wrote a long forgotten page in the history of the events of 1916 and it gives me great pleasure to see their story brought to light in this exhibition and highlighted for a new generation.”

DSC_0401

The launch was also attended by Deputy Chief Fire Officer Denis Keeley, and Las Fallon, Head of Heritage Projects with the Dublin Fire Brigade.

South Dublin County Council, through its library service, is delighted to host this exhibition as part of our 1916 centenary activities.

The exhibition runs at the County Library, Tallaght until 9th September 2016 (during library opening hours).